Guides

10 ways to improve your running technique

Like everything we do in life, it is essential to repeat things in order to improve. But we still have to do things right! Here are 10 points that will help you improve your running technique.  

1. Look far ahead


Looking at the ground will only draw your body weight downwards and not forwards. A heavy, jerky stride (which will cause tension in the quadriceps) is obviously what we are trying to avoid! To do this, fix your gaze about 20 meters on the horizon to allow the upper body to remain "straight". And then, having a good posture is still more pleasant than being bent over and blowing like an ox!

2. Relax your shoulders


Running is not just about legs! The arms and shoulders also play a major role as they help propel the upper body forward. A bit like a catapult! Any muscular tension in the shoulders will therefore be harmful because it will block this mechanism and at the same time generate a body fatigue that will not be welcome.

3. Having the upper body sheathed


When running, avoid body swaying from right to left, fore and aft! Every unnecessary movement will make you lose a lot of energy in the end. Sheathing should therefore be part of your training plan. By strengthening your abdominal and back muscles, your posture, your way of breathing and your running attitude will allow you to run in a more physiological way.

4. Having a race cycle before


If you want to sit down, stay on your couch! But while running you grow to allow your lower body to adapt to a forward cycle. The leg that leaves the ground quickly returns under the buttock, the front knee rises high to allow a midfoot attack under the center of gravity.

5. Go forward and not upward


You are not a high jumper so it is important to keep in mind that your stride should be towards the horizon and not the sky. Without feeling like you are sitting down, your stride should be as low to the ground as possible in order to remain as efficient as possible and allow for a faster run cycle.

6. Having a midfoot attack


By placing the foot correctly under the centre of gravity, the body weight will naturally shift forward without consuming extra energy. A quick step on the ground will redirect energy forward. Compared to a heel attack (force vector will be redirected towards the ground and the back will therefore act as a brake), a midfoot attack will allow a forward running cycle and therefore a fluid cycle.

7. Have a rate of 180ppm


Taking big steps (as if you had flippers on your feet) or tiny steps (like a sparrow) thinking you can run faster, it's not true! On the other hand, you'll spend a lot of energy because your whole running cycle will be jerky. The smoothest and most economical stride is 180ppm (not per minute) on average. For your next race, have fun counting your steps!

8. Keep arms in line


When running, the elbows should keep an average angle of 90° and remain along the body to avoid any oscillation. Imagine drawing a vertical line that cuts your body in half. Your hands should never move to the opposite side!

9. Manage your breathing


If you are quickly out of breath, it is certainly at first that you went too fast, that your arms are perhaps badly balanced or that your posture is not adequate! Breathing while running is different than while walking and therefore it can be learned. Favouring abdominal breathing (stomach and lungs) will be more effective than chest breathing (just the lungs). Inhale through your nose and exhale through your mouth while coordinating your breathing with your steps.

10. Wear appropriate clothing


It will be more difficult to run with heavy cotton clothes than with clothes made of so-called "breathable" material. We must therefore adapt to the climatic conditions around us. It is first of all essential to maintain a certain body temperature during a sporting outing and secondly, it is more pleasant not to sweat heavily or, on the contrary, to be cold. Running clothes containing polyester, elastane and polyamide are therefore highly recommended.

Perrine Evans

A former athlete and graduate in Sports Kinesiology from the University of Central Missouri (USA), I am passionate about biomechanical analysis of running and postural analysis.

Guides

10 façons pour améliorer sa technique de course

Comme tout ce que nous entreprenons dans la vie, il est essentiel de répéter les choses afin de s’améliorer. Encore faut-il faire les choses correctement ! Voici donc 10 points qui vous aideront à améliorer votre technique de course.  

1. Regardez loin devant


Regarder le sol ne fera qu’attirer votre poids du corps vers le bas et non l’avant. Une foulée lourde, saccadée (qui engendreront des tensions au niveau des quadriceps) est évidemment ce que nous cherchons à éviter ! Pour cela, fixez votre regard environ 20 mètres à l’horizon pour permettre au haut du corps de rester “droit”. Et puis, avoir une belle posture est tout de même plus agréable que d’être courbé à souffler comme un boeuf !

2. Relâchez les épaules


Courir ne se fait pas simplement avec les jambes ! Les bras donc les épaules jouent également un rôle majeur puisqu’ils aident à propulser le haut du corps vers l’avant. Un peu comme une catapulte ! Toutes tensions musculaires au niveau des épaules seront donc néfaste car bloqueront ce mécanisme et engendreront par la même occasion une fatigue corporelle qui ne sera pas la bienvenue.

3. Avoir le haut du corps gainé


En courant il faut éviter tout balancement corporelle de droite à gauche, avant-arrière ! Chaque déplacement inutile vous fera perdre énormément d’énergie au final. Le gainage doit donc faire partie de votre plan d'entraînement. En renforçant vos muscles abdominaux et dorsaux, votre posture, votre façon de respirer et votre et attitude course vous permettra de courir de manière plus physiologique.

4. Avoir un cycle de course avant


Si vous voulez vous asseoir, rester dans votre canapé ! Mais en courant on se grandit pour permettre au bas du corps d’adapter un cycle de course avant. La jambe qui quitte le sol revient rapidement sous la fesse, le genou avant monte haut pour permettre une attaque médio pied sous le centre de gravité.

5. Aller vers l’avant et non le haut


Vous n’êtes pas sauteur en hauteur donc il est important de garder en tête que votre foulée doit se diriger vers l’horizon et non le ciel. Sans pour autant avoir la sensation de s'asseoir, votre foulée doit raser le sol pour rester le plus efficace possible et permettre un cycle de course plus rapide.

6. Avoir une attaque médio pied


En posant le pied correctement sous le centre de gravité, le poids corporel basculera naturellement vers l’avant sans consommer d'énergie supplémentaire. Un pas rapide au sol permettra de rediriger l’énergie vers l’avant.  En comparaison avec une attaque talon (vecteur force sera redirigé vers le sol et l'arrière donc jouera le rôle de frein), une attaque médio-pied permettra un cycle de course avant et donc un cycle fluide.

7. Avoir une cadence de 180ppm


Faire de grand pas (comme si vous aviez des palmes aux pieds) ou bien des tous petits pas (tels un moineau) en pensant pouvoir courir plus vite, ce n’est pas vrai ! Par contre vous allez dépenser une énergie folle car tout votre cycle de course sera saccadée. La foulée la plus fluide et la plus économique est celle des 180ppm (pas par minute) en moyenne. Lors de votre prochaine course, amusez vous à compter vos pas !

8. Gardez les bras dans l’axe


En courant, les coudes devront garder en moyenne un angle de 90° et rester le long du corps pour éviter toutes oscillations. Imaginer tracer une ligne verticale qui coupe votre corps en deux. Vos mains ne devront jamais passer du coté opposé !

9. Gerez votre respiration


Si vous êtes vite essoufflé, c’est certainement dans un premier temps que vous êtes allé trop vite, que vos bras sont peut être mal équilibrés ou que votre posture n’est pas adéquate! Respirer en courant est différent qu’en marchant et donc cela s’apprends. Favoriser une respiration abdominale (ventre et poumon) sera plus efficace qu’une respiration thoracique (simplement les poumons). Inspirez par le nez et expirer par la bouche tout en coordonnant votre respiration avec celles de vos pas.

10. Portez des vêtements adéquates


Il sera plus difficile de courir avec des vêtements en coton lourds qu'avec des vêtements à matière dite “respirante”. Il faut donc s’adapter aux conditions climatiques qui nous entourent. Il est dans un premier temps primordiale de maintenir une certaine température corporelle lors d’une sortie sportive et dans un second temps plus agréable de ne pas transpirer à grosse goutte ou au contraire d’avoir froid. La tenue de running qui contiennent du polyester, de l’élasthanne et du polyamide sont donc vivement conseillés.

Perrine Evans

Ancienne athlète et diplomée en Kiné du sport de l'University of Central Missouri (USA), je suis passionnée par les analyses bioméchaniques de course à pied et analyses posturales.