Article

Heel strike, good or not?

Until a little while ago, whenever I saw an athlete running with a heel strike, I couldn't help but call out to him and encourage him to change the way he puts his foot on the ground. But in the end, is this really necessary for every runner?

The question of heel versus midfoot attack has been debated for years. But wouldn't it be better to ask another question such as: "Is the foot correctly positioned below the center of gravity? »

Center of gravity of the body, where is it located?

Often described as being located at the belly botton, it is not so correct. Indeed, the center of gravity in men and women has been found to be at different heights. In men it is present at 57% of its height from the soles of the feet, while in women it is about 53% of its height. (Magazine science et vie). Depending on the movements made, knowing the position of the center of gravity becomes a determining factor in knowing the point of stability of the object or person.

What's the ideal stride?

An ideal stride can be described as the efficient stride that allows a person to run for a long time with a minimum level of effort. The more energy is transmitted in the forward movement, the less it is necessary to draw on one's reserves to compensate for the loss of efficiency (Véronique Champagne).

Photo: sport-equipment

Since we are not robots, the stride will depend on several factors that are interesting to take into consideration when studying or analyzing the stride. We all have different lifestyles: working standing vs. sitting all day long, new runners vs. experienced runners, people with past injuries vs. never injured, women with low births vs. caesarean sections, etc. etc. etc. All of these factors will contribute to a different posture for different people and should be taken into account to avoid negative effects.

In spite of this and for everyone, the stride allows a restitution of energy and thus propels the body forward like a catapult with each foot on the ground. If you are on the starting line of a marathon, it is preferable to save as much energy as possible to see the finish line without injury or pain and without direct negative impact on your performance. In addition, having an ideal stride, an ideal posture without unnecessary rotation or swinging of the upper body, will undoubtedly provide you with much more enjoyable running outings.

Race pace: How to be the most efficient?

To improve his or her running technique, the number of steps per minute should be close to 180 (+/- 10 steps per minute).  This cadence will also determine the cycle of front and back legs. Indeed, small steps very close together will prevent a "complete" leg cycle because the back leg will not have time to climb high enough under the buttock. On the other hand, strides that are too big will have a great chance of generating a negative heel attack because they are too far forward of the center of gravity.

Photo: Running Heroes

Heel strike below the center of gravity should it be modified?

When running, the foot on the ground is obviously closely watched by many scientists in order to devalue the perfect stride. Do you think that Eliud Kipchoge (marathon record holder) or Usain bolt (100m record holder) are the perfect examples and examples to follow? Every runner is different so when an analysis is made it is essential to look at the runner from head to toes and not at individual body segments.

From my personal point of view, it is not necessary to change a heel strike if it is correctly positioned under the center of gravity since the energy restitution will be present.

Photo: Running addict

Heel strike in front of the centre of gravity, what can it cause?

In running we all agree that the goal is to go forward and not backward ;) So imagine for a moment that at each step, you come to hit an object. In addition to slowing you down and drawing on your energy reserves, this would push your body backwards and could lead to numerous injuries in the so-called rising chain (i.e. knees, hips, back or even cervical). This is exactly what happens to a runner whose stride presents a heel attack in front of the center of gravity. In this case, it is essential to work on your stride and modify the pose on the ground.

Photo :Drsport

Conclusion

Before changing the way you run, it is essential to discover your stride using a video system to change only certain points. Working with a coach who observes you and gives you advice is great, but it's also essential to see yourself in action to make it easier to change it later. This video analysis is available on the store via the Ochy application.

Perrine Evans

A former athlete and graduate in Sports Kinesiology from the University of Central Missouri (USA), I am passionate about biomechanical analysis of running and postural analysis.

Article

Attaque talon, bien ou pas ?

Il y a encore quelques temps, dès que je voyais un athlète courir en effectuant une attaque talon, je ne pouvais m’empêcher de l’interpeler et l’inciter à modifier sa façon de poser son pied au sol. Mais finalement, est-ce bien nécessaire pour chaque coureur ?

La question de l’attaque talon versus pose du médio-pied fait débat depuis des années. Mais ne faudrait-il pas mieux se poser une autre question telle que : « Le pied se pose t’il correctement sous le centre de gravité ? »

Centre de gravité du corps, ou se situe-t-il ?

Souvent décrit comme étant situé au niveau du nombril, il n’en est finalement pas si correct. En effet, le centre de gravité chez l’homme et la femme s’est révélé être a des hauteurs différentes. Chez l’homme celui-ci est présent à 57 % de sa hauteur en partant de la plante des pieds, alors que chez la femme c’est à environ 53 % de sa hauteur. (Magazine science et vie). En fonction des mouvements effectués, connaitre la position du centre de gravité devient déterminant pour connaitre le point de stabilité de l’objet ou de la personne.

La foulée idéale qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Une foulée idéale peut être décrite comme la foulée efficiente qui permet à une personne de courir longtemps avec un niveau d’effort minimum. Plus l’énergie est transmise dans le mouvement vers l’avant, moins il est nécessaire d’aller puiser dans ses réserves pour compenser les pertes d’efficacité.(Véronique Champagne)

Photo : sport-équipements

Étant donné que nous ne sommes pas des robots, la foulée va dépendre de plusieurs facteurs qu’ils sont intéressants de prendre en compte lors d’une étude ou analyse de la foulée. Nous avons tous des modes de vie différents : travail debout vs assis toute la journée, nouveaux coureurs vs coureurs confirmés, personnes avec des blessures passées vs personnes jamais blessées, femmes ayant accouchées par voie basse vs césarienne etc etc. Tous ces facteurs vont contribuer à une posture différente selon les personnes et devront être prise en compte pour ne pas créer d’effet négatif.

Malgré cela et pour tout le monde, la foulée permet une restitution d’énergie et donc de propulser le corps vers l’avant comme une catapulte à chaque pied posé au sol.Si vous êtes sur la ligne de départ d’un marathon, il est préférable d’économiser le plus possible cette énergie pour y voir la ligne d’arrivée sans blessures ni douleurs et sans impact négatif direct sur vos performances. De plus, avoir une foulée idéale, une posture idéale sans rotation ou balancement inutile au niveau du haut du corps, vous offrira sans aucun doute des sorties running beaucoup plus agréables.

Cadence de course : Comment être le plus efficace ?

Pour améliorer sa technique de course, le nombre de pas par minute doit se rapprocher des 180 (+/- 10 pas par minute).  Cette cadence déterminera en autre le cycle de jambes avant et arrière. En effet, des petits pas très rapprochés empêcheront un cycle de jambe « complet » car la jambe arrière n’aura pas le temps de monter assez haut sous la fesse. Par contre des foulées trop grandes auront de grande chance à engendrer une attaque talon négative car bien trop en avant du centre de gravité.

Photo : Running Heroes

Attaque talon sous le centre de gravité doit il être modifié ?

En course à pied, la pose du pied au sol est évidement regardée de près par de nombreux scientifiques afin de dévaluer la foulée parfaite. Pensez-vous que Eliud Kipchoge (recordman du marathon) ou Usain bolt (recordman du 100m) en sont les exemples parfaits et les exemples à suivre ? Chaque coureur est différent donc quand une analyse est réalisée, il est essentiel de le regarder dans sa totalité et non par segment corporel individuellement.

De mon point de vue personnel, il n’est pas nécessaire de changer une attaque talon si celle-ci se positionne correctement sous le centre de gravité puisque la restitution d’énergie sera présente.

Photo : Running addict

Attaque talon en avant du centre de gravité, que peut-elle engendrer ?

En course à pied nous sommes tous d’accord que le but est d’aller vers l’avant et non vers l’arrière ;) Imaginez donc un instant qu’à chaque pas, vous veniez butter sur un objet. En plus de vous ralentir et de puiser dans vos réserves d’énergie, cela pousserait votre corps vers l’arrière et pourrait engendrer de nombreuses blessures en chaine dite montante (c’est-à-dire au niveau des genoux, hanches, dos ou même cervicale). C’est exactement ce qui se passe chez un coureur dont la foulée présente une attaque talon en avant du centre de gravité. Dans ce cas-là, il est indispensable de travailler sa foulée et modifier la pose au sol.

Photo :Drsport

Conclusion

Avant de changer sa façon de courir, il est essentiel de découvrir sa foulée grâce à un système vidéo pour ne modifier que certains points. Travailler avec un coach qui vous observe et vous donne des conseils est super, mais il est également essentiel de se voir soi-même en action pour plus facilement le modifier par la suite. Cette analyse vidéo est disponible sur le store via l’application Ochy.

Perrine Evans

Ancienne athlète et diplomée en Kiné du sport de l'University of Central Missouri (USA), je suis passionnée par les analyses bioméchaniques de course à pied et analyses posturales.