Article

Running efficiently

Running, running and more running to progress and always go further is part of the daily life of many runners.  

Running is a traumatic sport for the body and the organism. It is therefore necessary to be able and know how to run effectively to avoid being in "the red" and therefore no longer have enough energy the next day or the day after to continue with a new outing training.

running efficiently running
worldsmarathons

For this, the essential thing in running is to run efficiently!

What does it mean? How do we do it?

Running in a so-called efficient manner simply means running at a high pace of effort with the least possible waste of energy. Being able to run at a given speed, for example to reach a personal time, and with the least possible effort is ultimately the most desired thing for every runner at any level. Every runner is looking for pleasure in training, in a competition, in a Sunday outing. And to do this, running without feeling real fatigue, pain and ultimately without having to drag your "paw", it is possible! But you still need to know how to do it?

There are 3 essential points to work on in running to be most effective:

Type of ground contact: Avoid standing with your foot on the ground below the centre of gravity (This is 57% for men and 53% for women, of body height when carrying from the ground). So for example, for a man who is 1.80m tall, his centre of gravity is 1.02m when wearing feet - and finally around the navel). It doesn't matter whether you make a heel or forefoot attack, the position of this contact in relation to the rest of your body has a huge role to play in determining the weight of the impact and the resulting braking forces. A good rule of thumb in terms of passing is to look for the alignment of the knee and ankle at the initial contact. Ideally, we look for the knee to flex directly above the ankle on initial contact. If the rider is overloaded, you will see the ankle in front of the knee.

running efficiently ground contact

Type of Posture: Today's life (is even more so in this special Covid period, where teleworking is more and more requested from us), pushes us to remain seated most of the time. Behind a desk, curved back, rounded shoulders and bent hips. By maintaining this type of position, we get short and tense hip flexors and other anterior muscles, as well as weak and not very active buttocks and other posterior muscles. Unfortunately, this is the posture we adopt when running and it becomes problematic because we need to maintain a straight, high and stretched posture to run efficiently. It is therefore essential to work on your body mobility (especially at the hip flexors) to counter the negative effects of sitting positions as much as possible.

running with efficient posture
Photo Dreamstime

 Bust rotation: The aim of running is to go from point A to point B as linearly as possible. Although the human body is made up of movements requiring many rotations at the joints, the final body movement must be based on a forward progression. If this is not respected, if swaying movements are visible (often from right to left at the bust) it costs energy to control and stabilize them. In the end it is a great inefficiency!

running with efficient bust rotation
britishathletics

Cadence: Running with the right running technique will significantly reduce the risk of injury. One of the common mistakes runners make is to run at too slow a pace, which will result in the foot being placed below the centre of gravity and thus putting a strain on the joints. In order to avoid this, it is necessary to take faster and therefore shorter steps. Of course, this change cannot be done drastically. The progress will be made as the weeks go by during which the body will have to take time to adapt, thinking about it at the beginning and until it becomes a habit.

run at an efficient pace
Photo Credit: @herbert_kapfinger

Conclusion 

Incorrect posture or an attack of the foot on the ground badly positioned will ultimately cause pain or unnecessary loss of energy. So, whether you want to run for simple pleasure or to add performance to it, you must keep in mind that you want to run efficiently.  

Perrine Evans

A former athlete and graduate in Sports Kinesiology from the University of Central Missouri (USA), I am passionate about biomechanical analysis of running and postural analysis.

Article

Courir avec efficacité

Courir, courir et encore courir pour progresser et toujours aller plus loin fait partie du quotidien d’un grand nombre decoureurs.  

Or, la course à pied est un sport traumatisant pour le corps et l’organisme. Il faut donc pouvoir et savoir courir de manière efficace pour éviter de se retrouver dans« le rouge » et donc ne plus avoir assez d’énergie le lendemain ou lejour d’après pour enchainer avec une nouvelle sortie d’entrainement.

courir avec efficacité running
worldsmarathons

Pour cela, la chose essentielle en course à pied c’est courir avec efficacité !

Qu’est-ce que cela signifie ? comment y parvenir ?

Courir de manière dite efficace veut simplement dire courir en maintenant un rythme d’effort élevé en gaspillant le moins d’énergie possible. Pouvoir courir à une vitesse donnée, pour par exemple atteindre un chrono personnel, et avec le moins d’effort possible est au final la chose la plus souhaitée de chaque coureur quel que soit le niveau. Chaque coureur recherche avant tout à se faire plaisir lors d’un entrainement, d’une compétition, d’une sortie du dimanche. Et pour cela, courir sans ressentir de réelle fatigue, de douleurs et au final sans devoir trainer « la patte », c’est possible ! encore faut-il savoir comment faire ?

Il y a 3 points essentiels à travailler en course à pied pour être le plus efficace :

Type de contact au sol : Éviter une pose du pied au sol en deçà du centre de gravité (Celui-ci se situe à, 57% pour les hommes et53% pour les femmes, de la hauteur corporelle en portant du sol. Donc par exemple pour un homme qui mesure 1m80, son centre de gravité se situe à 1m02 en portant des pieds – et au final aux alentours du nombril).  Peu importe que vous fassiez une attaque talon ou l'avant-pied, la position de ce contact par rapport au reste de votre corps a un rôle énorme à jouer dans la détermination du poids de l'impact et des forces de freinage qui en découlent. Une bonne règle empirique en termes de dépassement est de rechercher l'alignement du genou et de la cheville lors du contact initial. Idéalement, nous cherchons à ce que le genou fléchisse directement au-dessus de la cheville lors du contact initial. Si le coureur est en surcharge, vous verrez la cheville devant le genou.

courir avec efficacité contact au sol

Type de Posture : La vie actuelle (est encore plus en cette période si spéciale de Covid, ou le télétravail nous est de plus en plus demandé), nous pousse à rester assis la plupart du temps.  Derrière un bureau, dos courbé, les épaules arrondies et hanches fléchies. En maintenant ce type de position, nous obtenons des fléchisseurs de hanches et autres muscles antérieurs courts et tendus, ainsi que des fessiers et autres muscles postérieurs faibles et peu actifs. Or, c’est malheureusement cette posture la que nous adoptons en course à pied et cela devient problématique car au contraire nous avons besoin de maintenir une posture droite, haute et étirée pour courir efficacement. Il est donc essentiel de travailler sa mobilité corporelle (surtout au niveau des fléchisseurs de hanches) pour contrer au maximum les effets négatifs des positions assises.

courir avec efficacité posture
Photo Dreamstime

 Rotation du buste : La course à pied a pour but d’aller d’un point A à un point B de façon le plus linéaire possible. Bien que le corps humain soit constitué de mouvements nécessitant de nombreuses rotations au niveau des articulations, il n’empêche que le mouvement corporel final doit être basé sur une progression vers l’avant. Si ceci n’est pas respecté, si des mouvements de balancement sont visibles (souvent de droite à gauche au niveau du buste) cela coûte de l'énergie pour les contrôler et les stabiliser. Au final c’est une grande inefficacité !

courir avec efficacité rotation du buste
britishathletics

Cadence : Courir avec une technique de course adéquate et juste permettra de limiter le risque de blessures de façon significative.Une des erreurs courantes chez le « runner » est de courir avec une cadence trop lente, ce qui entrainera une pose de pied en deca du centre de gravité et donc une contrainte importante au niveau des articulations. Afin donc d’éviter cela, il faut effectuer des pas plus rapides donc plus courts. Ce changement ne peut évidemment pas se faire de manière drastique. Le progrès se fera au fur et à mesure des semaines durant lesquelles le corps devra prendre le temps de s’adapter, y penser au début et jusqu’au moment où cela deviendra une habitude.

courir avec efficacité cadence
Photo Credit: @herbert_kapfinger

Conclusion 

Posture inadaptée ou bien une attaque du pied au sol mal positionnée causeront au final des douleurs ou une perte d’énergie inutile. Ainsi, que l’on veuille courir pour le plaisir simple ou en voulant y ajouter des performances il faut garder en tête de vouloir courir avec efficacité.  

Perrine Evans

Ancienne athlète et diplomée en Kiné du sport de l'University of Central Missouri (USA), je suis passionnée par les analyses bioméchaniques de course à pied et analyses posturales.